2019 Webinar: Ruffed grouse and forest management

Grouse at sunset

Ruffed grouse are an important game species that rely on healthy forest habitat to thrive. Managing forests for ruffed grouse also provides habitat for other wildlife species associated with early successional forests, including deer and woodcock. Despite their popularity, ruffed grouse populations are facing a number of challenges including West Nile virus and habitat. This webinar will discuss recent trends of ruffed grouse populations in Wisconsin and the Lake States and how forest management practices are integrated with the success of this popular game species.

Date: Tuesday December 17, 2019 from noon-1pm central
Speaker: Jon Steigerwaldt, Ruffed Grouse Society
Cost: $20 per webinar or $50 for the entire 2019 series
CEUs: This webinar has been approved for 1.0 CAT1 CFE by SAF. Credits only available to those that watch on their computer live or at a broadcast site.

Register here for the December webinar

You may also watch for no charge (and without registering) at a local broadcast site:

  • Cloquet: Cloquet Forestry Center, 175 University Rd, Cloquet MN 55720. Contact: Madison Rodman, sfec@umn.edu or (218) 726-6403.
  • Crookston: 205 Owen Hall on the University of Minnesota – Crookston campus, 2900 University Ave, Crookston, MN 56716. Contact: Phil Baird, pbaird@umn.edu or (218) 281-8130.
  • Duluth: Natural Resources Research Institute, 5013 Miller Trunk Highway, Duluth MN 55811. Contact: Kristi Nixon, knixon@d.umn.edu
  • East Bethel: Cedar Creek Ecosystem Science Reserve, 2660 Fawn Lake Drive NE, East Bethel, MN 55005. Contact: Caitlin Barale Potter, caitlin@umn.edu or (612) 301-2602.
  • Ely: Vermilion Community College, 1900 East Camp Street, Ely, MN 55731. Contact: Rita Koch, r.koch@vcc.edu or (218) 235-2160.
  • Grand Rapids: North Central Research and Outreach Center, 1861 Highway 169 East, Grand Rapids, MN 55744. Contact: Michael Carson: cars0130@umn.edu
  • St Paul: Green Hall, Room 19, UMN St Paul campus, 1530 Cleveland Avenue North, St Paul, MN 55108. Contact: Eli Sagor, esagor@umn.edu or (218) 409-6115 or Matt Russell, russellm@umn.edu.

Details on our entire 2019 webinar series.

All interested learners are welcome. For accommodations related to ability please contact Madison Rodman at mrodman@umn.edu or 218-726-6403.

Contact Us

Eli Sagor, SFEC Program Manager
esagor@umn.edu | 218-409-6115

Madison Rodman, SFEC Program Assistant
mrodman@umn.edu | 218-726-6403